Advanced T&P A2(Flash & Battery pack) class task

Today’s task was to show our understanding in how to use portable lighting and using a rechargeable battery pack which could be taken out of the studio and in to your very own chosen location to shoot on.  The battery and lighting pack is a very expensive kit that you could use for your outdoor location photography.  Lighting calumet genesis 300b, alongside a inverter battery pack which has two options which you could work of one is a DC & MC we used it on DC as we were using the battery to do our practice shoots for the task and get an idea of how to set up the lighting and how to work it. As the battery pack as few hours of shooting mode and can’t use other bulbs as it was waste the battery quicker and you will probably not get much shooting time which would be a big disadvantage.

I used an umbrella diffuser in order to get soft lighting coming through. If you place the umbrella closer to the calumet lighting the stronger it would come and if you was to leave a few inches of space between the lighting the softer it would hit the item that you are shooting. I personally like soft lighting on my portrait photography but for my food photography I would choose to do both as I like stronger lighting coming on to my food as it gives it a stronger look and attracts attention.

For this shoot we used soft lighting which illuminates around one side of the face which gives it a nice soft shadow from one side of the face and because we sat at an angle which gave the shadow lighting that soft look which look good and a under exposed on the other cheek of the face which was good and made the portrait come out pretty good. To make the background look under exposed we added some white boards on each side of the model and what this did was bought all the extra lighting in and hit the face of the model as before the remaining lighting went to the back and bought the background in to the image which we didn’t really want. We used gold reflectors which gave a great cast of glow on to the models face which looked perfect and because we used it at an angle on one side it bought that extra lighting that hit the gold reflector and hit on to the model which glowed perfectly.

Overall this shoot was very successful and we managed to learn and achieve a lot of new goals which was great. I have great confidence in how to use the battery pack and calumet lighting and I am fully aware of how to use it especially if I was in a problem were I had to use this kind of lighting now that I have full confidence within how to use it and how to set it up.

Using different techniques around the model and casing different lighting effects have really helped me and gave me a great aspect of how to use Rembrandt lighting.

IMG_2504 IMG_2506 IMG_2522

Here is a shoot were I wanted a portrait of two people using the illuminating lighting and see how it works out on the second person and if it will be the same. Overall I got the result that I was looking for which worked out perfectly and gave me great understanding and confidence within this shoot.

Here is a shoot were I wanted a portrait of two people using the illuminating lighting and see how it works out on the second person and if it will be the same. Overall I got the result that I was looking for which worked out perfectly and gave me great understanding and confidence within this shoot.

IMG_2528

Illuminating lighting: This is one of my favourite shoots as you look to one side the lighting is hitting the models face but as it carry's on around the face it fades out and under exposes which looks great.

Illuminating lighting: This is one of my favourite shoots as you look to one side the lighting is hitting the models face but as it carry’s on around the face it fades out and under exposes which looks great.

Leave a Reply

